Pain

You think that you’re locked in this cage called a relationship
You assume that what we’re doing is just lying
You think I don’t know about you’re secret rendezvous
What you don’t realise, is that my heart still beats when I hear you laugh.

You say that I confine you,
that I suffocate you.
Yet I give you space to explore, to travel, to learn, to love;
Only, you learnt it all, but not love me, as I do.

You think you can hide those love bites with a new scarf,
and say that you hurt yourself the previous day.
But I know better than to ask you how you fell,
Because in reality, the only one that is hurt is me.

You say that you can’t wait to run away from us
But don’t you see how all I wanted to do was to make you happy
You keep seeing your pain and assume I want the same as you do
But I don’t, I just wanted us.

You say you’re just a slave here, you’re in pain
That you can’t get out of this relationship
But what you don’t see are these chains tied across my heart,
If there is a slave to pain, that would be me.

Leave a Reply

